Cairo Town Board

Daniel Benoit:                 supervisor@townofcairo.com — Supervisor                       Term Ends: January 2018

Douglas Ostrander:             dostrander@townofcairo.com — Board Member              Term Ends: January 2018

Daniel Joyce:                   djoyce@townofcairo.com — Board Member                       Term Ends: January 2020

MaryJo Cords:                 mcords@townofcairo.com — Board Member                     Term Ends: January 2018

Gary Warner:                   gwarner@townofcairo.com — Board Member                    Term Ends: January 2020

Sherry B. True                 strue@townofcairo.com — Supervisor Clerk

Did you know...

Did you know...

Cairo is home to the oldest geologic site in the world, with evidence of a prehistoric forest dating back roughly 387 million years. In 2012, an archaeological dig at a stone quarry on town property discovered the remains of some of the earliest trees to evolve.  These Devonian period fossil root systems form the footprint of an ancient stand of trees belonging to the world’s oldest known forest. Evidence of an extinct, palm-like tree named cladoxylopsid was discovered, as well as conifer relative (archaeopteris) that may be the missing link between trees that reproduce with spores (like ferns) and the seed bearing trees we know today.

(Photo from: Claude Haton.)